top of page

Bonusskate | "How it's like to skate in the Philippines"

It was the summer of ‘89, the day that skateboarding changed my life.

Like most traditional Filipino families, I grew up in one so conservative that mingling with other kids aren’t fully allowed. My dad worked overseas and my mom was so strict that I would often lie to be able to enjoy doing what normal kids do.

I was in fourth grade then. Our neighbor had this piece of wood with wheels that he let me borrow. Like most kids, I was curious. I didn’t know what it was at that time. All I know was that it felt different when I step on it and ride it.

The feeling of the air rushing through my face and the rush of adrenaline in my body was indescribable. For the first time, I felt free. Back in the 90’s, skateboarding was still very young in the Philippines. Tony Hawk, Steve Caballero, Sal Barbier, Rodney Mullen, Colin Mckay and Geoff Rowley were some of the skaters that I grew up watching. The internet was still nonexistent here then. Skate videos were sold through VHS and 411 was the only skate media that I knew.

We since relocated but I never stopped thinking about skateboarding. I dreamt of having my own board one day. My mom wouldn’t buy me one. She said it’s just a waste of money. But for a kid who has the passion and motivation, everything is possible. I took on odd jobs to save enough money to buy my own set.

Being able to buy my own board from my own hard-earned money felt great! I skated every chance I get and tried to learn all the tricks that I could. I would go to different spots and attend events. I had always dreamt of becoming a pro skateboarder and earn from doing something that I’m really passionate about. Unfortunately, skateboarding wasn’t supported much less exposed in the Philippines at that time.

That was years ago. So much has changed yet much has also stayed the same. I am still very much passionate about skateboarding. Although now, I get to buy my boards and stuff when I need it and I get to skate whenever I wanted.

Skateboarding is also gaining traction here. I may not have been a pro skateboarder but I’m doing the next best thing which is filming them. I get to give back to the community by putting up my own skate media that aims to be the voice of skateboarding in the Philippines. I film sponsor-me-videos and cover events in the hopes that through it, I’ll be able to provide opportunities (that we didn’t have during my time) to exceptional skaters who doesn’t have the means to do so.

Ever since I stepped on that bullet, I knew deep within me that this is my purpose. Within the twenty years that I spent in skateboarding, I learned a lot. I may not be that good, I may not know all the tricks there is. But the freedom that I have every time I ride that piece of wood is really life changing.


Featured Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page